Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Welcome to KeystoneForums.com! > New Member Check in!
Click Here to Login

Old 09-02-2019, 06:14 AM   #1
Sambucus

Absolute noob with yet another towing question

Hello All,
My wife and I decided, now that I am on the glide path to retirement (6 years or so) to get an RV and camp with the grandchildren and snowbird later. I have heard the advice "buy your third trailer first".

I purchased a 2019 Silverado 1500 CC SB with a tow package, rated 9500 lbs towing.

We are zeroing in on a Passport GT 2950BH. We love the floor plane (as do the grandkids) and it looks to be the right feature/quality/price balance.

That said, I am an engineer and therefore I over-analyze everything. All the math says that this trailer will fit the truck and I should be fine, but never having owned a trailer, I am looking for some real world facts to confirm this. My research is all over the map, some say 6000 GVWR trailer for this truck to allow plenty of margin, (this trailer is 6145 dry, 7800 GVWR)

As I said, all the math works, but am I too close to max, realisticly?

Thanks for any advice!
Sambucus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 06:28 AM   #2
chuckster57
Site Team

welcome to the forum

Never use any "dry" weights in any calculations, as they are not what your trailer will weigh after the battery is installed and the propane bottles filled. Use the GVWR of the trailer and the tongue weight as your guides. Even the tongue weight is misleading as it too is BEFOIRE battery and propane.

Look at the sticker in the drivers door sill and it will list the GVWR of YOUR truck. use that as a starting point, and go weigh your truck loaded as if your headed to the campground. Take that figure and subtract that from the GVWR of the truck and you will have the amount left for the trailer.