Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Fifth Wheels
Click Here to Login

Old 01-31-2023, 03:15 PM   #1
Stevestrailer

Frozen sewer pipes

It has been cold so I left my grey tanks open and water trickling ! The line has frozen and is showing both tanks are full! The black tank will not pull to drain so I imagine it is frozen too! Only one faucet still flows but it barely flows! I put a space heater in the belly to try and thaw it out! It looks like there is ice in the sewer hose that goes into the ground as well!! I’m new to rving so I’d appreciate any help as to where to start to get it all flowing! Thanks in advance!
Stevestrailer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 03:21 PM   #2
chuckster57
Site Team

Welcome to the forum

Unfortunately at this point you have to wait for things to thaw out. I would turn off the water, and if you can locate the low point drains open them and drain as much water as you can.

Once things are flowing again, you need to take steps to keep the cold out of the underside. Depending on your situation (permanent ) you have options. May want to consider tank heaters for the future.

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 03:23 PM   #3
wiredgeorge

Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckster57 View Post
Welcome to the forum

Unfortunately at this point you have to wait for things to thaw out. I would turn off the water, and if you can locate the low point drains open them and drain as much water as you can.