Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 08-25-2015, 03:03 PM   #1
Gbarnes

Travel Trailer vs 5th wheel

Okay, so I know this has probably been beat up pretty hard on here, but what the heck. I currently have about a 30ft Keystone travel trailer. I am considering possibly upgrading to a 5th wheel. I have zero experience with one...never hooked one up, let alone towed one. What are the pros and cons and how much can I COMFORTABLY tow? My TV is a 2013 F250 powerstroke. I do not want to be anywhere near the upper limits of the tow capacity (been there and not going back).

Alternatively, I could upgrade to a larger TT. If so, I'd go for something with multiple slides to get more room.

What are your thoughts?
Gbarnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 03:09 PM   #2
bsmith0404

Its not the tow capacity you need to worry about, it's the payload capacity of your truck vs the pin weight (actual not advertised) of you 5er and all of the gear you take with you. As for 5er vs TT...5er is much more stable and IMO offers better floor plans. Will never buy a TT over a 5er.

Brent
2013 Alpine 3500RE
2019 Silverado 2500HD Duramax
U.S. Air Force Retired (25 yrs)
bsmith0404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 03:12 PM   #3
Javi

As the former owner of a '12 F250 diesel I can tell you that you will be limited on choices with a 5th wheel... You run out of payload LOOOOOOOOONG before you run out of towing capacity...

There are some small, light 5'er out there but we just flat couldn't find one we liked.. your mileage may vary.

As for the difference in towing a 5'er and a bumper pull... NO SWAY, and a lot more stability...

Downside... you pretty much loose the bed...
Old 08-25-2015, 03:23 PM   #4
Gbarnes