Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > General RV Issues
Click Here to Login

Old 07-13-2013, 05:44 PM   #1
Jerryb1973

Propane remaining?

Newbie here: 5th wheel dual tank system---How can I determine the amount of propane I have left in the tanks? Surely I don't have to take them out and weigh them.
Jerryb1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 05:51 PM   #2
hankaye

Jerryb1973, Howdy;

Welcome to the forum
Weighting them IS the most accurate method,
don't forget to correct for temperature. Subtract the
total (gross), from the tare weight (stamped on collar).

hankaye

Home: 2008 Cougar 278 RKS
T.V.: 2004 F-250 4X4, Level III BulletProofed , Detroit Tru-Track Differential (915A550)
Dog: 2006 Border Collie (Rascal) aka Maximum fur dispersal unit. (08/04/2006 - 12/16/2017) RIP.
hankaye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 08:16 PM   #3
theeyres

I take the easy way out. I don't worry about it and just let the automatic changeover do it's job. I check every once in awhile and if it has changed over I take the empty tank for a fill-up. I know, roughly, how long a tank lasts depending on how much I'm using and that judges how often I check for an empty tank.

2007 33.5' Arctic Fox Fifth Wheel used for full-timing for several years--now sold
2011 Hideout 23RKSWE that we now use for poking around local parks
2007 Chevy 3/4 ton diesel with Prodigy Brake Control
theeyres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 09:02 PM   #4
floatflyer