Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Fifth Wheels
Click Here to Login

Old 04-18-2020, 09:41 AM   #1
85yotapolo

265rl

just bought a 2011 in perfect condition 265RL

never had a fifth wheel before this is my first time towing one and owning one..
just bought a generator too for boondocking since that is what i want to do most time also got 2 batteries from costco.

my question are

1. best way to level fifthwheel
2. slide out= rain and snow??? can i use it in rain?? and snow?? if so what to look out for?
3.how to drain fresh water tank?
4. tv mount in room i see cable and power connections what about mounting anyone have ideas for fitting smaller tv

any boondocking mods??

oh and generator i just got in 2 days ago is a 3500 champion remote start
85yotapolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2020, 10:13 AM   #2
sourdough
Site Team

You level a 5th wheel like you would a bumper pull; left to right then back to front without auto level. Here is a quick that talks to that;

You can do it as the video suggests and over time you will know about how much height to put under one side or the other or go to an easier method. I used Andersen levelers which allows you raise the appropriate side and monitored it with a Level Mate Pro so that I could watch the level as I moved forward from inside the cab. SO much easier, quicker and accurate.

We use our slides in rain or snow. If they are in good shape (including the seals all the way around) you should be OK. Make sure your roof sealant is in good shape by inspecting it and repairing any cracks/pinholes.