Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 05-27-2020, 11:56 AM   #1
Uzelessknowledge

Do I or Don’t I?!?

Hello all newbie here.
TLDR: What RV can we safely tow with a Silverado 1500?

Wife and I think we want an RV. We’ve not stepped foot on a dealer lot and are already overwhelmed.
The RV will supplement our vacations which are normally at a timeshare. The timeshare is paid for and all we pay are maintenance fess, so we’re getting our money out of it. We want to take long weekends and then once a year use it longer for traveling. That’s the thought any way.

We have a Silverado 1500 that is spec’d for GCVWR 12k, towing 9100. I’ve looked at multiple calculators and I see I can get a trailer anywhere from 3,500 to 7klbs. I’m so confused. I know we need to add our weight and all the stuff we will take with us. That is where I end up on the very low end. I don’t think we need to factor in a fully loaded trailer with all 3 tanks full.

We like the Bullet 221RB, but is that too much trailer for the truck we have?

Thank you for any help.
Travis
Uzelessknowledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 12:05 PM   #2
meaz93*

Google this... Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20200526-183849_Google.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	46.7 KB
ID:	27628
meaz93* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 12:28 PM   #3
Uzelessknowledge

Yup, tried that. It says I can tow 8100lbs. But that seems extreme since the tow capacity is 9100 and GCVWR is 12,000.
This is another site I was looking at. http://changingears.com/rv-sec-calc-...eight-tt.shtml

Am I over thinking it?
Old 05-27-2020, 12:52 PM   #4
flybouy
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uzelessknowledge View Post
Hello all newbie here.
TLDR: What RV can we safely tow with a Silverado 1500?