Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Lite Weight Trailers
Click Here to Login

Old 08-10-2014, 06:05 AM   #1
rooti

bumper pull vs fifth wheeler for 1/2 ton PU?

I have been towing bumper pull trailers for over 30 years without incident. I have always been on the edge for weight but never had any issues. I have a 2007 NBS 1500 silverado with the 5.3 engine and the 3.43 gears and it is currently towing my 2005 28' alpenlite that weighs in at about 6,000 pounds with what I have in it

We are thinking about upgrading to a tad bigger trailer but want to keep the same truck. I would replace the gears with 4.11 and upgrade the WDH to the top of the line. I am looking at the Laredo 294rk but the dealer is recomending me to go to the 28sgs fifth wheeler. The 5th wheeler is heavier but keystone advertises it as 1/2 ton towable.

I have never had a 5th wheeler, so how does it work towing vs a bumper pull?
Can you get a removeable hitch with a fifth wheeler if I want to haul a load of gravel when I'm not towing?

Any comments would be helpful
rooti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 06:26 AM   #2
bsmith0404

5th wheel hitches are easily removed from the bed of the truck, I only install mine when towing. As for towing them, they are a dream. They follow so nice behind the truck you will love them compared to a bumper tow. As for towing it with your truck, a 10,000 GVW trailer with 1,500 on the pin for a 1/2 truck....NO WAY! Additionally, the 5.3 even with 4:10 gears will struggle. I used to tow a similar sized trailer with a 2500 and 6.0 with 4:10s, it was fine on a flat road, but struggled in the hills and mountains. If you want to keep your truck, you don't want the 28SGS.

Brent
2013 Alpine 3500RE
2019 Silverado 2500HD Duramax
U.S. Air Force Retired (25 yrs)
bsmith0404 is offline   Reply With Quote