Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Toy Haulers
Click Here to Login

Old 10-19-2013, 08:54 AM   #1
jeffro413

looking for some advice - cold weather

i'm a complete rookie!! next weekend i'd like to take my Fuzion 301 to a football game for tailgating. my temps this coming week are (today) 55/35, 58/29, 45/28, 44/26, 51/30, 46/28, 54/37 and Sunday 55/35. it is stored inside, but no building heat or insulation. i'm heading south to slightly warmer temps saturday night and sunday. my question is, should i winterize here, haul it down then fill? dump on the way home and winterize again?

again, complete newbie!!

Thanks in advance
jeffro413 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 09:07 AM   #2
JRTJH
Site Team

If you're going to have the furnace on and keep the interior at around 68-74, you will be OK with a low of 28. Just don't sit it outside unheated in that temp and expect it to recover in an hour once you do turn the furnace on. It will take a while to reheat. Best to keep it warm. You should have no problems.

Unless you're going to be using it after this weekend, I'd dump on the way home, winterize when you get back and tuck it away till spring. If you are considering using it some more before it gets "really cold" I'd dump, and blow the lines with compressed air, open the low point drains and empty the HWH. a bit of antifreeze in each P trap would be a good idea, and don't forget the toilet.

2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 05:35 PM   #3
2014Fuzion300

Like JRT JH said, you are going to be fine.
Winterize after you tailgate party only if you're not going to be using your camper for long time and under really cold weather!
I live in Savannah GA and we actually like to go camping in the winter. We don't winterize :-)