Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 03-07-2021, 01:15 PM   #1
RedBull

5th wheel towing question

Hello everyone,
I'm a newbie but I've been lurking on here for a while, tons of great people and info here. I'm plaining on purchasing our first fifth wheel soon, we decided on Cougar Half-Ton 32BHS. The unit is 9,580 lb. dry and 11,500 GVWR, the pin weight is at around 1,570 lb. unloaded according to the manufacture specs. I have 2021 Ram 2500 Tradesman 6.4L 3.73 short bed with payload 3,030 lb. We will travel with 2 adults and 2 small kids. On paper it seems like I won't have a problem pulling the Cougar if I keep the truck payload to minimum, however, I would like to hear from people who actually have some experience with towing maybe similar set up. I just want to be 100% sure before we pull the trigger.
Thanks in advance.
RedBull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2021, 01:22 PM   #2
tech740

You will most likely go over your payload. I know it seems unlikely but 23% of 11,500 is 2,645. Add a couple hundred for a hitch, more for cargo in the truck and weight of occupants, and you will get to your number quick.

2019 Ram 3500 6.7 HO, Aisin Trans 3:73
Reese Goosebox
2019 Sandpiper 379FLOK
tech740 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2021, 01:34 PM   #3
JRTJH
Site Team

We have a 2014 Cougar XLite fifth wheel with an "advertised pin weight" of 1230 pounds. The trailer GVW is 10,000 pounds and "empty weight" is 7045. I've never seen the "empty trailer" weigh less than 7500 and never seen the pin weight less than 1530 pounds. We typically run about 9600 pounds with a pin in the 1850 range.