Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Lite Weight Trailers
Click Here to Login

Old 07-06-2015, 10:15 PM   #1
michael_h

How do you carry your bikes?

I posted this on a FB page and caught hell from many that think it's either just unsafe or endangers their family, blocks airflow to the motor, blocks view of the license plate, headlights, impairs my vision, or if they come off they're coming thru my windshild. I've been carrying my bikes on a front loader for about 7 years when towing starting with my popup which wasn't designed to hold bikes on the bumper to our present Premier. I've seen bikes on the interstate presumed off backs of RVs & TT's and don't feel comfortable trusting mine on the thin wall bumper that's welded to the lightweight frame (I did carry them once on the back but a friend that was following said they did a lot of "dancing & jumping")

So anyway I'm just curious how you carry yours

Here's my view while driving

2013 Premier 19RBPR

2016 Cougar 26RBI
michael_h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2015, 10:19 PM   #2
Steve S

There was a very long thread about this a yr ago I think and there were some great ideas.
Try the search button and you'll find some interesting ways of how people carry their bikes
Old 07-07-2015, 05:25 AM   #3
bsmith0404

Been several threads on this so a search should give you a lot of info. To give you a quick answer, I carry 3 on a tray rack in the receiver welded to the frame at the rear of the camper and 2 on a tray rack mounted to the front receiver on the truck. I used to use a rack similar to the one you have, but the tray rack is much easier to load the bikes, holds them more securely, and keeps them down below the top of the hood so they do not obstruct my view.