Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Fifth Wheels
Click Here to Login

Old 07-09-2010, 09:53 PM   #1
CdnSailor

Awning Issues

Newbie here. Purchased a 2010 326MKS. Very happy with it so far with the exception of the electric awning.
How the heck do you clean it?
I am not wanting to have to climb up on the roof with a bucket of sudsy water, brush and hose to clean the darn thing.
Awning cannot be lowered like the manual one.
Any ideas fellow RVers?
CdnSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 10:17 PM   #2
Festus2
Site Team

Welcome to the forum. How do you clean your awning? I would get a long-handled telescopic soft brush to do the top and bottom. If you are not fussy about climbing and being on your roof - what about your teenage son if you have one? The neighbour's son ??--- your wife??? Would standing on a step ladder work for you? Some RVer's concoct a cleaning solution, apply it to the awning fabric, roll it up , let it sit for 30 mins or so, unroll it and then rinse it off.
(The formula for the solution is: 5 gal of warm water, 1/4 cup of dishwasher soap, 1/4 cup of bleach.)
Old 07-09-2010, 10:25 PM   #3
CdnSailor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Festus2 View Post
Welcome to the forum. How do you clean your RV you ask? I am assuming that you can raise and lower your awning electrically and that, in theory, it should be faster and easier than doing it manually. Haven't had any posts on here expressing problems with the electronic/remote awning.
Hi,

Cleaning the RV is not the issue. The awning does not raise and lower. It just goes in and out. At approx 12 ft high, no real way to clean the top. Wife says she will NOT go on the roof as per your suggestion.
We only have the 4 legged kids so that is out of the question.
Will have to hire the kid down the street when we return home.
Cheers,