Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Fifth Wheels
Click Here to Login

Old 02-08-2021, 06:43 AM   #1
Techmark

Keystone Cougar Quality

We bought a 2021 Cougar 24RDS in September 2020. I was curious what people think of the Keystone quality?

We’ve used our three times and are currently on a six week stay in the South. There are a lot of little things that are subpar in my opinion. I was thinking that $40K would get us a better product. Does anyone else have quality issues? Or did I get the Monday morning or Friday afternoon edition?
Techmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2021, 06:55 AM   #2
chuckster57
Site Team

As a tech, I noticed after Covid shut everything down, when the RV industry started back up, all the manufacturers were way behind in building units. From entry level to high end I have seen a decline in quality as they try to meet quantity demands. If your somewhat mechanically inclined and have some basic tools, it’s easier to repair small stuff on your own.

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2021, 07:41 AM   #3
Brantel

Welcome to the reality of owning an RV.

Bottom line is most of them are built with similar construction techniques, materials, components, and quality control. This seems to be true with units even 3 times as expensive as yours. Until you get up in the higher 6 figure units, they are very similar across all brands and models.