Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 08-04-2021, 02:26 PM   #1
jack65

Towing setup questions

Let me start with I'm still a RV newbie as last year was my first real year of camping with a small trailer. I've camped with tents all my life until three years ago. So bear with me on some questions you experts may consider stupid questions.

My current setup:
Ram 1500 SLT Quad Cab 4x4
5.7L V8 Hemi MDS VVT 450+ HP Engine w/upgrades
8-Spd Auto 8HP70 Transmission
392 Rear gear ratio
Trailer Tow Mirrors and Brake group
Trailer brake control
Heavy Duty transmission & engine cooling system
Flowmaster exhaust system, K&N air filter system.

GCWR / 14,100lbs - 10,150lbs GVWR / 6,350lbs
Payload: 1,410lbs Max Trailer WGT 8,950lbs
Quad Cab® 6'4" box 10,400-lB max tow capacity 1,830-lB Payload capacity
Towing:
CLASS 4 TRAILER HITCH WITH 2" RECEIVER #14374
https://www.curtmfg.com/part/14374
My WDH/sway control system
HAUL-MASTER
10,000 Lb. Capacity Weight-Distributing Hitch
w/HAUL-MASTER
Trailer Sway Control Kit

2015 Starcraft AR-ONE 14RB Specs:
Dry Weight 2,390 lbs.
Payload Capacity 810 lbs.
GVWR 3,200 lbs.
Hitch Weight 255 lbs.
Dimensions
Length 16.5 ft. (198 in.)
Width 7.08 ft. (85 in.)
Height 8.42 ft. (101 in.)
Interior Height 6.08 ft. (73 in.)
Wheelbase 11.25 ft. (135 in.)

Now for the questions
Last year we got up to the lake with no problems, however before backing in took off the Trailer Sway Control Kit as manual said to, then after backing in, when I went to remove the spring/chains, we had a heck of a time trying to get them off. My wife almost cut her finger off helping with the bar as it snapped off really quick. Almost had to take her down to the doctors but got her patched up.
I looked at the manual and it said the vehicle and trailer should be level.