Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Travel Trailers
Click Here to Login

Old 05-30-2021, 05:07 PM   #1
lcarver02

Trailer King Tires Belt slip / bulge / separation Sprinter Campfire ST26RB17

The issues with Trailer King Tires and poor quality / premature failure are so common. Seems no one cares, but the NHTSA does document safety related issues and if you have trouble you should report it. I am an Automotive Engineer (27 years) who worked with Ford during the Firestone Recall years and have seen thousands of tire failures, documented causes of the failures and investigating the customer vehicles that had damages as a result of belt separation, belt slipping and other failures. I have a 2017 Keystone Sprinter Campfire ST26RB17 Trailer with an estimated 8,000 miles (don't use it much). I am very religious about tire pressure, inspections and assuring that safe trailering is always done. Never have any of these tires had a repair, leak, impact or even hit a skunk. I just found a serious tire failure (Steel Belt sticking out of the outside tread (bulge)). As many others have recommended, these China Made very poor quality tires are coming off in two days. Two friends are also getting rid of their Trailer King tires ASAP after they saw this failure. Tires are ST225/75 R15 D ST Radial Trailer King tires that came from Keystone on the trailer a short four years ago. PLEASE, before you go traveling, get your tires checked, rotated, inspected all around, pressure set and if you have these, get them replaced. Some sound advice.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00001.jpg
Views:	276
Size:	214.9 KB
ID:	33878  
lcarver02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2021, 06:25 PM   #2
gearhead

Somebody got some 'splainin to do. Were these the tires the RV genius said were #1?