Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Travel Trailers
Click Here to Login

Old 10-15-2013, 07:33 PM   #1
GACamper

Question Complete Novice - Need Advice - Towing a '13/14 Sprinter 316BIK

Hello, my name is Doug and I'm new to this forum and TT's in general. I need some advice.

My family and I are seriously considering the purchase of either a (new) '13 or '14 Sprinter 311BHS or more ideally the 316BIK. Both can be had in our price range. Both would work for my family. Obviously the 316BIK is my preferred. Either one, we'll be purchasing the 3 bunks + trundle in the rear (we have 4 walking tax deductions - ages 5 - 13, 3 boys/1 girl (youngest).

My questions are less about the TT itself as much as the tow vehicle. I hope I'm asking this in the right sub-section. If not; Mods, please move accordingly?

Our TV is 2008, 5.7L-V8, Toyota Sequoia Limited 2x4. It's got a towing capacity of 10,000lbs. Knowing absolutely NOTHING about what I am doing in regards to towing/hauling (I can drive a trailer and back one up just fine, but weight/balancing one in reference to the TV is SUPREMELY over my head).

The max weight of either trailer is slightly over 11k lbs. This is over my vehicles max, but in all honesty, wouldn't it be a bit odd to pack the trailer to max weight? I'd assume with food, clothes, fresh water tank full, black and gray tanks 1/4 full, pots/pans, etc... stuffed in there, we should be somewhere around or just under my max tow-able weight.

My questions are:

1. What are the cons of towing close to max weight as specified by the manufacture?

2. Anyone else use a similar setup (my TV is dang near identical to the '08+ Tundra mechanically. It IS identical if you enclose the short-beded Tundra's bed, add some carpet and a 3rd row seat for 3)?