Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Keystone Questions
Click Here to Login

Old 04-12-2022, 01:00 PM   #1
Spletbr

Residential fridge while in storage

I’m new to having a residential fridge. Great while traveling and plugged in but wonder what people do when storing the trailer with no power…? Also, if storing for a shorter period and have power do you keep it on?
Cooper and Penny (pups)
Spletbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2022, 01:13 PM   #2
flybouy
Site Team

If you have a residential fridge then I believe you'll have a dedicated battery and inverter. Storing the trailer without shore power the fridge would run via the inverter and battery. Depending on the battery it won't be long before the battery runs down, the fridge stops running, and you have a large stink bomb waiting for you when you open the fridge.

If your storing for a "shorter period" with power available then certianly let it run, as long as your confident that it won't get disconnected inadvertantly.
flybouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2022, 01:17 PM   #3
Spletbr

Quote:
Originally Posted by flybouy View Post
If you have a residential fridge then I believe you'll have a dedicated battery and inverter. Storing the trailer without shore power the fridge would run via the inverter and battery. Depending on the battery it won't be long before the battery runs down, the fridge stops running, and you have a large stink bomb waiting for you when you open the fridge.

If your storing for a "shorter period" with power available then certianly let it run, as long as your confident that it won't get disconnected inadvertantly.
Thanks. I should have mentioned that we would turn the fridge off and disconnect the negative on the battery if no power for a while, and unload the fridge. Do you then leave it open?
Cooper and Penny (pups)