Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Fifth Wheels
Click Here to Login

Old 06-22-2020, 07:36 PM   #1
J-rod

Auto Level Question

Guys I am sure I am beating a dead horse here but complete noob to the auto level thing and looking for answers. I just drove home a new 2020 Cougar 24RDS. Not our first camper but our first fifth wheel and first with auto level feature (factory Lippert Level-Up). Parked the new camper in basement driveway where I have always parked our travel trailer. I always used a LevelMatePro with the travel trailer and I know this spot is level within ¼” side-to-side and no more than 2” front-to-back. Pulled the pins on the front jacks and dropped to 3 - 4 inches of touching the concrete. Powered the controller and pressed the front button until enough pressure came off fifth wheel to unhook and move the tow vehicle away. At this point I believe a red LED light was flashing below the rear button on the controller (not 100% sure but I felt confident that the front of the trailer was high, unfortunately I did not scroll through to see how much). I elected not put any blocks or or levelers under the rear jacks because I thought there would be very little adjustment when I leveled and the rear jacks would be no where close to out-of-stroke. Pressed the auto level button and let the rig level itself. When it was finished the rear tires of the camper where off the ground by a couple inches and the front wheels were barely touching. Not wanting to get into the argument of whether that is ok or not I just don’t understand why auto level felt the need to raise the front so high that the rear had to pick the tires off the ground to level. Not knowing what to do, I auto retracted the rear jacks and then watching the degrees of level I manually lowered the front jacks until the camper was 0.1% high in