Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > General RV Issues
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2020, 06:10 AM   #1
Dafreshie0102
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Milan
Posts: 3
AC stopped working

So i have my 2010 keystone hideout 19FLB hooked up to my house electric..and i had the radio, AC, all lights on to check if they worked and was also cleaning the TT b4 we take it on the road.. Well after i turned on the lights the a.c. shut off.. I checked both house and TT breakers and it didn't come back on.. Shut everything off did breakers again still nothing.. I didn't check fuses i had no pliers.. What else should i be looking at to see if I caNt get the AC to work again?
__________________

Dafreshie0102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 07:02 AM   #2
ronheater70
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Greensboro
Posts: 91
Sure sounds like something overloaded, I was under the assumption that running the AC in that situation off the house is a no no..So to be sure I understand, it is "just" the AC and everything else is working o.k.. And it tripped off the second you turned on the lights or was there a delay there for a bit? Is there a reset somewhere?
__________________

__________________
2019 369BHS
Towed with 2018 Ram 3500 Cummins LB CC 4x4 G56
ronheater70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 08:06 AM   #3
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 18,429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dafreshie0102 View Post
So i have my 2010 keystone hideout 19FLB hooked up to my house electric..and i had the radio, AC, all lights on to check if they worked and was also cleaning the TT b4 we take it on the road.. Well after i turned on the lights the a.c. shut off.. I checked both house and TT breakers and it didn't come back on.. Shut everything off did breakers again still nothing.. I didn't check fuses i had no pliers.. What else should i be looking at to see if I caNt get the AC to work again?
As clarification, in the first sentence you say, "I had the radio, AC, all lights on..." in the second sentence you say, "I turned on the lights the a.c. shut off.." and in the last sentence you say, "I can't get the AC to work again?"

Please clarify if the AC is air conditioner and a.c. is the same or is it 120VAC power that you're referring to???

If you have checked the circuit breakers in both the trailer AND in the house, have you checked for power AT THE HOUSE OUTLET to which your trailer is plugged in? If you don't have a multimeter, just take a lamp, plug it into that socket and see if the lamp lights. You can do the same with a drill or saw or ????? If the lamp lights, your problem is either the trailer power cord or the trailer power center/air conditioner. If the lamp doesn't light, the problem is in your house power system to that outlet.
__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 09:27 AM   #4
flybouy
Site Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joppa, MD
Posts: 3,891
Define "house power". If you are plugged into a standard 15 Amp outlet then you will overload that circuit running the air conditioner.

If that outlet is outside then you most likely tripped the GFI. You need to find the GFI that the outlet is "daisy chained" from and reset it. The GFI outlet controlling the outlet you are plugged into could be on another outside outlet or one that's inside the house.
__________________
Marshall
2012 Laredo 303 TG
2010 F250 LT Super Cab, long bed, 4X4, 6.4 Turbo Diesel
flybouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 10:11 AM   #5
hankpage
Site Team
 
hankpage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Venice
Posts: 5,078
Also, your air conditioner compressor is protected with a time delay to prevent short cycling. If it is turned off it can take up to 8 minutes before it will restart. If you are plugged into a standard home outlet, check for a tripped GFIC as mentioned and test outlet for power. (with multi-meter or simply plug in a lamp that works.
__________________
Hank & Lynn
2007 Cougar 290RKS, E-Z Flex, 16" XPS RIBs ( SOLD .. Gonna miss her ... looking for new 5r)
2004.5 Dodge 2500 QC, LB, 5.9HO, WestTach gauges, Ride-Rite
hankpage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 12:04 AM   #6
Dafreshie0102
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Milan
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronheater70 View Post
Sure sounds like something overloaded, I was under the assumption that running the AC in that situation off the house is a no no..So to be sure I understand, it is "just" the AC and everything else is working o.k.. And it tripped off the second you turned on the lights or was there a delay there for a bit? Is there a reset somewhere?


Yes, I have it hooked up to my garage for power to make sure everything ran right.. I turned on the ac unit.. then the radio.. started doing some cleaning and clear the water lines out.. then I turned on the lights and with each light I turned on the ac power got lighter.. on the 3rd light I turned on the ac unit shut off... I check the breakers on the TT and also in the house bc there are breakers for the garage in the house.. yes everything else still worked in the camper after the ac shut off.. I have not tried the lights in the garage I never thought to check in there..
Dafreshie0102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 12:39 AM   #7
tech740
Senior Member
 
tech740's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Hemlock
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dafreshie0102 View Post
Yes, I have it hooked up to my garage for power to make sure everything ran right.. I turned on the ac unit.. then the radio.. started doing some cleaning and clear the water lines out.. then I turned on the lights and with each light I turned on the ac power got lighter.. on the 3rd light I turned on the ac unit shut off... I check the breakers on the TT and also in the house bc there are breakers for the garage in the house.. yes everything else still worked in the camper after the ac shut off.. I have not tried the lights in the garage I never thought to check in there..
Most likely the lights in the garage will still work. You need to look at the circuit that the plug is on. Start by trying something that you know works and plug it into the same plug the camper is in now. If it works it is from the end of the cord to the camper. If the new device doesn't work it is in the garage wiring. Look at each outlet til you find the one that has the test and reset button (GFCI). Press the reset and see if that helps. If not you may be using a volt meter to check each plug or getting an electrician.
__________________
R.J. and Ginger

2019 Ram 3500 6.7 HO, Aisin Trans 3:73
Andersen Ultimate Hitch
2019 Sandpiper 379FLOK
tech740 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 02:43 AM   #8
cavediver
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Swanton
Posts: 179
If plugged into a 15 or 20 amp breaker. What size power cord (extension cord are you using?). If to small you could have burned the cord up and not tripped the breaker. Just another thing to consider.
__________________
2017 26RBPR Bullet Premier
2006 GMC Sierra 2500HD
cavediver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 04:05 AM   #9
flybouy
Site Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joppa, MD
Posts: 3,891
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dafreshie0102 View Post
Yes, I have it hooked up to my garage for power to make sure everything ran right.. I turned on the ac unit.. then the radio.. started doing some cleaning and clear the water lines out.. then I turned on the lights and with each light I turned on the ac power got lighter.. on the 3rd light I turned on the ac unit shut off... I check the breakers on the TT and also in the house bc there are breakers for the garage in the house.. yes everything else still worked in the camper after the ac shut off.. I have not tried the lights in the garage I never thought to check in there..
You clearly overloaded a 15 Amp circuit. On a 30 amp device you cannot run everything that's 120vac simultaneously.

If you have a microwave look and see if the display is on.
__________________
Marshall
2012 Laredo 303 TG
2010 F250 LT Super Cab, long bed, 4X4, 6.4 Turbo Diesel
flybouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 08:30 AM   #10
wiredgeorge
Senior Member
 
wiredgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Mico
Posts: 1,598
Get on the phone and call and electrician to install a 30A outlet you can use to power your camper while parked at home. Trying to plug into a 15A outlet, probably with a long extension cord is a recipe for failure. Also purchase a quality EMS and use in inline with the power you connect to be it from your home or in a camp ground. You are going to FRY something expensive otherwise.
__________________

__________________
wiredgeorge Mico TX
2006 F350 CC 4WD 6.0L
2002 Keystone Cougar 278
2006 GL1800 Roadsmith Trike
wiredgeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×