Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Fifth Wheels
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2021, 06:14 PM   #21
flybouy
Site Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joppa, MD
Posts: 6,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nankipoo View Post
I thought about that. I'm just afraid I might end up with 2 that didn't work then. 😂
Taking pictures BEFORE you disconnect any wires with your phone can be your best toll.
__________________

__________________
Marshall
2012 Laredo 303 TG
2010 F250 LT Super Cab, long bed, 4X4, 6.4 Turbo Diesel
flybouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2021, 04:22 PM   #22
Nankipoo
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Halls
Posts: 91
So........ Decided to make the two hour round trip and pick up a new switch. New switch does same thing, nothing. Bent the prong back over on the old switch to see what would happen. Same thing, nothing. I'm stumped at this point.
__________________

__________________
Tracy and Donna
2016 Ram 2500, 6.4, 6.5 bed
2013 Keystone Laredo 329RE
Nankipoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2021, 04:58 PM   #23
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 13,399
Ok. At this point we need to access the slide motor. If it has two wires, then apply 12V and it should run one way, reverse the wires and it should run the other way.

You can use an Volt meter at the connections to test if voltage is getting there from the switch. Just have someone press the switch and it will read either 12V or -12V. Come back with results and we will proceed.
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2021, 05:26 PM   #24
Nankipoo
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Halls
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckster57 View Post
Ok. At this point we need to access the slide motor. If it has two wires, then apply 12V and it should run one way, reverse the wires and it should run the other way.

You can use an Volt meter at the connections to test if voltage is getting there from the switch. Just have someone press the switch and it will read either 12V or -12V. Come back with results and we will proceed.
Ok will do. Got to figure out where that motor is.
Nankipoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2021, 05:35 PM   #25
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 13,399
If the slide rides on square tubes with teeth on the bottom, the motor should be closer to the opposite side frame.
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2021, 06:07 PM   #26
Nankipoo
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Halls
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckster57 View Post
If the slide rides on square tubes with teeth on the bottom, the motor should be closer to the opposite side frame.
I'm assuming this motor will be covered by the underbelly. I don't see one. Well I did but I checked what turned out to be a Jack motor. 😄
Nankipoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2021, 06:34 PM   #27
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 13,399
Slide motors are in the depths of the underbelly. If the coroplast is held on with screws, just take out as many as needed for access. If not, then pop a couple of rivets off, locate the motor and then cut a flap. If you cut a flap, only cut 3 sides with the “hinge” at the front. When your done you can use “scrim” tape or gorilla tape to close up the seams.
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2021, 06:35 PM   #28
Javi
Senior Member
 
Javi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Waco, Tx
Posts: 4,388
https://youtu.be/PZMnH7tOHRk
__________________
2020 Avalanche 313 RS 15K GVWR
2015 F350 6.7 2WD Dually 6062 Payload
B&W 25K RVK3305 Companion Hitch
63 Gallon RDS Wedge Aux Tank
Plenty of truck...and now plenty of hitch, WI-FI & fuel
Javi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2021, 06:40 PM   #29
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 20,677
Crawl under your RV and lay on your back on the opposite side from your slide that doesn't work. Look up at the coroplast underbelly and you should see a "patch of coroplast" that's about 18" square and in line with one of the rams on the slide (probably the aft ram). Remove that square patch and the motor should be just above it.

On my trailer, the factory installed the 18" square patch with 4 screws. When I removed the patch, there was no hole in the coroplast. What the factory did was "mark the spot with the patch" so the owner would know "where to cut" if they needed to access the motor.

I cut my hole in the coroplast about 3" smaller than the patch. Once I was finished inside the hole, I put the patch back in place with the screws the factory used, then cleaned the surface and sealed it with SCRIM tape. That's the tape recommended for DARCO repair. It's super sticky and won't peel off. You can use "Gorilla Tape" or a similar brand. Don't try to use the cheap "Duck tape" or fabric duct tape, they will peel off after the first season (if they last that long).....
__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2021, 07:00 PM   #30
jasin1
Senior Member
 
jasin1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Middle River
Posts: 1,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRTJH View Post
Crawl under your RV and lay on your back on the opposite side from your slide that doesn't work. Look up at the coroplast underbelly and you should see a "patch of coroplast" that's about 18" square and in line with one of the rams on the slide (probably the aft ram). Remove that square patch and the motor should be just above it.

On my trailer, the factory installed the 18" square patch with 4 screws. When I removed the patch, there was no hole in the coroplast. What the factory did was "mark the spot with the patch" so the owner would know "where to cut" if they needed to access the motor.

I cut my hole in the coroplast about 3" smaller than the patch. Once I was finished inside the hole, I put the patch back in place with the screws the factory used, then cleaned the surface and sealed it with SCRIM tape. That's the tape recommended for DARCO repair. It's super sticky and won't peel off. You can use "Gorilla Tape" or a similar brand. Don't try to use the cheap "Duck tape" or fabric duct tape, they will peel off after the first season (if they last that long).....
Apologies for detour... what brand/kind of “scrim” tape?.. and while I’m asking what brand /kind roof tape?
__________________
2020 Cougar 315 RLS
2020 Ram 3500 6.7HO 4.10 Dually Aisin
jasin1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2021, 07:13 PM   #31
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 13,399
We use AP brand scrim tape, and Eternabond

https://www.homedepot.com/p/AP-Produ...4180/309414362


https://www.eternabond.com/
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2021, 07:15 PM   #32
jasin1
Senior Member
 
jasin1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Middle River
Posts: 1,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckster57 View Post
Thank you!
__________________
2020 Cougar 315 RLS
2020 Ram 3500 6.7HO 4.10 Dually Aisin
jasin1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2021, 08:11 PM   #33
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 20,677
^^^ What Chuck said... I get my SCRIM tape from Amazon,
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Eternabond from the local Jayco dealer. Believe it or not, it's cheaper there than anywhere else I've found for 4" wide rolls.
__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2021, 06:39 PM   #34
Nankipoo
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Halls
Posts: 91
Let the slide in manually so I could go get the new tires installed. Decided while it's still hooked up to take it to the nearest dealer to have them look at it. They said they could get it worked in one day next week. They said it sounded like a simple fix. Guess we will see.
__________________
Tracy and Donna
2016 Ram 2500, 6.4, 6.5 bed
2013 Keystone Laredo 329RE
Nankipoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2021, 06:48 PM   #35
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 13,399
I’ll be waiting for their diagnosis.
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2021, 08:26 PM   #36
Nankipoo
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Halls
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckster57 View Post
I’ll be waiting for their diagnosis.
Will post when I find out.
__________________
Tracy and Donna
2016 Ram 2500, 6.4, 6.5 bed
2013 Keystone Laredo 329RE
Nankipoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2021, 05:03 PM   #37
Nankipoo
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Halls
Posts: 91
Got the 5'er back today. Turns out it had nothing to do with the switch. The problem was corroded wires down by the motor. They had no idea why someone bent the switch the way it was bent. Nor did they know how me tapping on the switch in the wall made the slide work sometimes. It was working when I picked it up lets hope it keeps working.
__________________
Tracy and Donna
2016 Ram 2500, 6.4, 6.5 bed
2013 Keystone Laredo 329RE
Nankipoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2021, 05:34 PM   #38
sourdough
Site Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: W. Texas
Posts: 11,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nankipoo View Post
Got the 5'er back today. Turns out it had nothing to do with the switch. The problem was corroded wires down by the motor. They had no idea why someone bent the switch the way it was bent. Nor did they know how me tapping on the switch in the wall made the slide work sometimes. It was working when I picked it up lets hope it keeps working.

Thanks for following up. I hope it works well going forward.
__________________

__________________
Danny & Susan wife of 53 years
2019 Ram 3500 Laramie CC SB 6.4 4x4 4.10
2020 Montana High Country 331RL
sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
slide, slide out

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×