Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > General RV Issues
Click Here to Login

Old 01-17-2021, 06:56 PM   #1
LnS

Newbie 1st month experience

Good day all
I thought I'd drop a post about my experiences over the first 30 days as an RV owner. I'm new to RVing so maybe another newbie would find something useful in this.
I spent several days practicing driving about town, in empty parking lots and on the interstate to build those practical skills. Lots of yard camping to familiarize myself with the trailer and to work on 2 problems. 1 trip to a local campsite went surprisingly well for the practical aspects, I've got to work on my RV camp site socialization skills.
The first problem was self induced, the second was an equipment hiccup. Excited to work on them, relived to resolve them.
First problem; when I got home and hooked up the trailer to the house with a 15A 30A combination to 50A connector all was well while I was in there, but the next day there was no power in the trailer. After trouble shooting I discovered that only 1 of 2 phases was powered. The battery charging and lots of other important stuff was on the other phase. Off to Walmart and found the solution, a 15A to 30A connector and a 30A to 50A connector. Walmart has a small RV section that had what I needed when I needed it, check them out if you need something right away. That combination powered both phases into the trailer.
The second issue was that the incommand display in the HVAC screen did not have a valid zone temp, it was "-". Neither the temperature management nor fan modes would work.