Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > General RV Issues
Click Here to Login

Old 07-11-2020, 11:32 AM   #1
Russamoto

Generators recommended for keystone hideout

I'm really new at this. Bought a used Hideout yesterday. What generator pairs well with this size trailer?
Russamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 12:34 PM   #2
chuckster57
Site Team

Welcome to the forum

Generator size will depend on what your trying to accomplish. Charge the battery(s) only a 1000W would do the job. Charge the battery and watch TV While microwaving something maybe the 1000W or step up to 2000W. General accepted rule us 3500W or better for the AC.

You can get a single gen rated for 3500-4000 watts, but they can be a bit heavy. You can get a pair of 2000W gens that can be “tethered” together for about 3600W. That way they are easier to carry/lift and you can run 1 if your not using the AC.

Either way, I would definitely get an “inverter” gen, as the power supplied is more constant and “cleaner” meaning it won’t damage your electronics.

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 01:29 PM   #3
ctbruce
Site Team | Emeritus

X2^^ what Chuck said is spot on.

Chip Bruce, RPh
Kansas City, MO
2016 Impact 312
2017 Silverado 3500HD SRW
ctbruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 02:50 PM   #4
travelin texans

NO construction type generator, everyone parked near you will appreciate it.
Replacement undetermined
travelin texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 03:56 PM   #5
dutchmensport