Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Repairs & Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Old 07-01-2017, 04:25 PM   #1
new tripper

outlet issues

Good evening everyone. I'm brand new to the RV community so please bare with me. I just bought a 2006 Keystone Cougar and non of my outlets are working except both GFI's. I have read other threads on here that have similar problems so I tried those fixes first like check and replace outlets, look for a hidden GFI, replace the battery (it was 7 years old) and nothing has worked. Would replacing the power converter be next? I've read that the fan on it should come on when powered up and mine does not. Any help would be great. You guys really seem to know your stuff.
new tripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2017, 04:53 PM   #2
chuckster57
Site Team

Welcome to the forum!!
Maybe an obvious question, you are plugged into shore power?

The power converter supplies 12VDC to the trailer and charges the battery(s). All of the outlets, microwave, TV, and the A/C require 110VAC. Only way to get it is to plug the shore cord in to a live 110VAC circuit.

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2017, 05:03 PM   #3
sourdough
Site Team

Am I reading that you DO have AC at 2 GFI outlets but none of the others? If not, as Chuckster asked are you on shore power and is it verified? Does the microwave work? TV? Basically, do any of the AC items work?
sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2017, 06:18 PM   #4
PARAPTOR
Site Team | Emeritus