Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Toy Haulers
Click Here to Login

Old 05-06-2014, 06:05 PM   #1
cenders

Securing the awning when extended. ie: tying the awning down

I'm new to the electric awning world. Just bought a Fuzion 310 fifth wheel. On my old trailer I'd extend the manual awning and then take the legs off the trailer and nail them to the ground with 12" spikes. Rock solid.

I hear that you can rope tie the awning down but I've also heard that is bad for the system and could lead to problems.

I also saw somewhere that a guy made adjustable PVC pipes and used those as legs down to the ground and tied that all together.

Thoughts? I'd love to leave them out overnight and not have to worry about wind.
cenders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 01:30 AM   #2
Mark TC

I time mine down with dog cork screw stakes and small ratchet straps. I do not put a lot of tension on the straps. This is my second TT and have no problems

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalkHD1399455003.090676.jpg
Views:	222
Size:	93.8 KB
ID:	5894  
Mark TC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 02:44 AM   #3
therink

I also tie down my power awning with no problems. I set the pitch, tighten the tensioner knobs and tighten the tie downs enough to stabilize the awning and hardware so all is firm. In light to moderate winds, this keeps the awning stable and quiet.
I do keep an eye on weather conditions and pull it in of winds are too much.

2015 GMC Sierra Denali 3500HD, SRW, Duramax, CC, SB (payload 3700)

https://i1109.photobucket.com/albums/...65/340FBH1.jpg
therink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 05:37 AM   #4
crash