Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 08-06-2012, 09:28 AM   #1
Mac123

Question Pushing the limits?

Just bought a cougar X-lite 21rbs tt. Towing with tacoma with tow package. 6500 lbs capability. No long trips short weekend trips for now. Am I pushing the limits?
Mac123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 12:05 PM   #2
x96mnn

That camper is about 5300pds dry. Does not leave you with a lot really for gear but I guess it depends on your experience.

Personally I do not think I would enjoy the combination and would find the trailer sway giving me a white knuckle ride. I think math would tell you its not a good combination but I am no expert and can only go off my experience and would say at 60 miles you will feel a lot of sway will find yourself 45 to 50 to be comfortable.
x96mnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 05:39 PM   #3
Philip Saran

This is just my opinion, you need more truck, it is NOT just the
ability to pull the trailer, it is also the abiltiy to STOP the trailer.

You don't mention the weight of your truck or it's tow rating only
that the trailer weights in at 5300 lbs.

Personally I like a large amount of safety in truck to trailer weight
margins. My 1 ton weights in at 8000 lbs with fuel, 2 people one
80 lb dog and stuff. My towing rate before I deduct the truck is
20,000 lbs, leaving me 12,000 for a trailer. My trailer loaded is
about 7700 lbs.
Philip Saran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 05:59 AM   #4
OhhWell

Man, I remember when you used to be able to look at the model number and pretty much figure how long the trailer was. I was thinking that must be a 21' trailer or so. As it sits, that may be a little more than you should be towing with a small pickup truck like the Tacoma.