Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone RV Customer Comments > Prospective Owners' Questions
Click Here to Login

Old 06-12-2014, 05:42 AM   #1
tmaxx

Question Passport Ultralite 252BH - good price?

I currently have a 2001 Coleman Mesa popup being towed by a 2006 Volvo XC90 (4.4L V8 with 5000lb towing capacity). We are looking to upgrade to a trailer. We found a 2013 Passport Ultralite 252BH trailer at an RV dealer in Lexington, KY which we can tow with our Volvo. The 252BH is 4200 pounds. The camper is currently listed at $18,000. The dealer dropped this down to $17,000 right away. Then they said they would give us $1820 for our popup bringing the driveway cost ~ $15,200. We would need to buy a electric brake kit ($185) and weight distribution ($510) as well.
Does this seems like a fair deal or is there more room to negotiate? This is my first time buying a trailer so I am not sure of how much room there is to negotiate the price.
The trailer is in really good condition - electric awning, flat screen TV, DVD player, outside gas grill, all aluminum structure....
tmaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 06:16 AM   #2
JRTJH
Site Team

New 2013 Passport 252BH models can be found on the internet with advertised pricing in the $18K range, so $17K for a used one isn't a "spectacular offer".... Depending on the optional equipment, condition and dealership's commitment to service the trailer for a period of time after purchase, it may be an "OK" deal, but it's certainly not a "steal" for you.....