Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Repairs & Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Old 07-17-2020, 08:59 AM   #1
Banjolectric

General help to get up and running

I just bought a 2001 Tail-gator that had been sitting in storage for a while. All my service centers are booked up so I'm trying to check out all the systems myself.
If the power connection is for 110v, why does it have a plug that looks like it's for a 220v?
Any tips on sanitizing the water system?
I'm just getting started and this is my first RV so any help is appreciated.
Banjolectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2020, 09:09 AM   #2
dwall

Your power connects to a 30 amp 120 volt outlet. Do not hook to 220!
dwall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2020, 09:19 AM   #3
Texas Steve

Your system is 120 volts but 30 amps. You can buy an adapter dog bone to go from the 30 amp cord to a heavy duty extension cord to be plugged into a standard outlet in the house or garage. You wont be able to run your air conditioner off this circuit because you will pull more amps than is available at the outlet. Typically these are 15 amps. You WILL be able to get your converter to run and charge the battery(ies).

The fresh water tank can be sanitized by adding 1/4 cup of bleach to 10 gallons of water in the tank. Use your water pump to run the water through all the faucets until you smell bleach. Let it sit a few hours then drain the fresh tank and refill with clean water. Run the pump again and flush out the water in all faucets until the bleach smell goes away. You might need to flush the system a couple of times. Drain your grey tank, but not on the grass or flowers! It will kill them!! Best is to go to an approved dump site and drain the tanks.

You might also think about cleaning the black tank also, so you can dump both at the same time.