Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Travel Trailers
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2020, 03:16 PM   #1
LisaKarre
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Colville
Posts: 14
A/C keeps tripping breaker in house

We are new Travel Trailer owners and are testing out the AC. The Trailer is plugged into an outside outlet at our home. We turned on the AC and it ran a few minutes and then tripped the breaker in the house. What should we be looking for?
thanks in advance!
__________________

LisaKarre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 03:22 PM   #2
ajlight
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: DeSoto
Posts: 11
If your house outlet is only 15 amps it is going to trip. That AC is probably pulling 13- 14 amps.
__________________

__________________
Outback 328RL
2020 Silverado Duramax
ajlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 03:28 PM   #3
LisaKarre
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Colville
Posts: 14
breaker says 20 on it ~ where does one have to plug in to be able to use the A/C?
LisaKarre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 03:37 PM   #4
skids
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Florissant
Posts: 263
There is probably some other significant draw on the circuit. 20 amps Capacity should do it as long as nothing else is drawing load, whether in the trailer or in the house. Don’t use a cheap 14 gage extension cord Or a long one because you can make a fire without tripping a breaker.
__________________
Skids
2019 Bullet 248RKS
skids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 04:01 PM   #5
Canonman
Senior Member
 
Canonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: South Jordan, Utah
Posts: 1,289
When you first start the A/C, the fan will run for a minute or so before the compressor kicks in. You should be able to hear when this happens. It's pretty noticeable. If that is when the circuit breaker trips and A/C stops, then there is an overload on the circuit. The compressor start up requires more power (13 to 18 amps) than the A/C does to just run. A 20a house circuit should be adequate to start the A/C as long as there is little else running on that circuit at the same time.
Don't know how hot it is there but we're having a heat wave here 100+. If it's hot out and your running a smaller gauge or long (over 25') ext cord this could contribute to and increase the total amp draw. Also if the fridge is on electric (or auto) plus the converter is charging the batteries, these will also draw amperage.
Hope these ideas help with your troubleshooting.
BTW Welcome to the forum!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	_MG_4977 - Version 2.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	241.9 KB
ID:	28966  
__________________
2017 Cougar 279RKSWE
2007.5 Dodge Ram 2500 6.7 Cummins
Retirement Training Completed
Someday I'll start "Behaving Myself"
Maybe Tomorrow
Canonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 04:06 PM   #6
flybouy
Site Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joppa, MD
Posts: 4,333
How is it plugged in? A dog bone adapter? A cheap extension cord?

Is there anything else in the trailer turned on? Is the refrigerator on 120vac? Is the water heater turned on with 120vac heating element on? Is the converter charging the battery? Do you have a lot of interior incandescent lights turned on? Is the television turned on? Is anything in the house plugged into that circuit like a freezer in the garage?

With a 20 Amp circuit and nothing else on that circuit running it should work but it may be close when the air conditioner compressor first starts. If anything else is pulling a load at that time then it will likely trip.
__________________
Marshall
2012 Laredo 303 TG
2010 F250 LT Super Cab, long bed, 4X4, 6.4 Turbo Diesel
flybouy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 05:05 PM   #7
CedarCreekWoody
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Trinidad,TX
Posts: 206
It is likely there are other things in your house running on the same 20 amp circuit. They could be using some of your amperage. Or it could be a weak breaker. I run my a/C on a 20 amp breaker with no problem but there is very little on the circuit.
__________________
Woody
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2019 Laredo 290 SRL
2019 Ram 2500, 4x4, Cummins diesel
Andersen hitch
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 05:18 PM   #8
sourdough
Site Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: W. Texas
Posts: 9,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by CedarCreekWoody View Post
It is likely there are other things in your house running on the same 20 amp circuit. They could be using some of your amperage. Or it could be a weak breaker. I run my a/C on a 20 amp breaker with no problem but there is very little on the circuit.

This is probably your issue. If you are just "plugging" into some plug in the house you can't have anything else running on that circuit. If you are going to try to use a home outlet that's just available, it needs to be either dedicated or know what is on it and make sure nothing is operational other than the rv.
__________________
Danny & Susan wife of 52 years
2019 Ram 3500 Laramie CC SB 6.4 4x4 4.10
2020 Montana High Country 331RL
sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 05:27 PM   #9
Ken / Claudia
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Fruitland
Posts: 2,815
Phone a electrician and have a 30 amp RV connection just for the RV. I have had them installed at vacation house, main house and am currently waiting for them to do same at new home. Never a problem again with overloaded circuit tripping a house breaker. If some stay a night and use the RV, everything works, electric that is. Water and sewer is a different story.
__________________
2013 24RKSWE (27ft TT) Cougar 1/2 ton series
2013 Ford F350 4x4 CC 6.7 8ft bed 3.55 rear end lariat
Retired Oregon State Police, than worked 9.5 years
has a small town traffic cop: As of 05-20, I am all done 39 years total police work. No more uniforms for me.
Ken / Claudia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 06:18 PM   #10
QCMan
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Loris
Posts: 50
Hi and welcome to the wonderful world of RV's! If you are going to have a dedicated outlet put in for your trailer, go for the extra bucks and have a 50 amp outlet put in. It can be turned into a 30 amp outlet with a simple adapter and if you move up to a bigger unit it is ready. Just like a 30 amp outlet, it can even be used as a 20 or 15 amp outlet with an adapter. Happy camping!
__________________
2018 Ram 1500, 2020 Cougar 22RBS
Two of us, two Jacks and plenty of time to roam!
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. A.E.
QCMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 07:28 PM   #11
wiredgeorge
Senior Member
 
wiredgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Mico, TX
Posts: 1,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by LisaKarre View Post
We are new Travel Trailer owners and are testing out the AC. The Trailer is plugged into an outside outlet at our home. We turned on the AC and it ran a few minutes and then tripped the breaker in the house. What should we be looking for?
thanks in advance!

If you intend on plugging in your camper while parked at home, hire an electrician to pull a dedicated 30A circuit from your breaker box to where you plan on plugging in. The electrical cable will be sufficiently gauged to not have significant loss at the length the cable needs to be. Using an electrician (licensed) will help you avoid liability in the event there is an problem and the insurance has to be get involved. If you do have a 30A service, use a bona fide ELECTRICAL MANAGEMENT SYSTEM appliance before you burn up the expensive appliances in your camper and it will keep your electrical system safe at campgrounds. You can buy one to wire in the camper or hang off the electrical box where you plug in.
__________________
wiredgeorge Mico TX
2006 F350 CC 4WD 6.0L
2002 Keystone Cougar 278
2006 GL1800 Roadsmith Trike
wiredgeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 08:11 PM   #12
bobbecky
Senior Member
 
bobbecky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Box Elder
Posts: 1,729
Regardless of whether you have a 30 or a 50 amp circuit installed, make very sure the electrician is fully aware that this is an RV outlet and not an appliance outlet, or you will likely burn up things in your trailer.
__________________
Bob & Becky
2012 3402 Montana
2012 Chevy 2500HD D/A CC
bobbecky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 02:50 AM   #13
ctbruce
Site Team
 
ctbruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 3,879
Are you plugging in to another extension as well as your adapter and your RV cord? If it is not rated at a high enough amperage, it will trip your breaker too.
__________________

Chip Bruce, RPh
Kansas City, MO
2016 Impact 312
2017 Silverado 3500HD SRW
ctbruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 04:01 AM   #14
QCMan
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Loris
Posts: 50
RV outlet

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbecky View Post
Regardless of whether you have a 30 or a 50 amp circuit installed, make very sure the electrician is fully aware that this is an RV outlet and not an appliance outlet, or you will likely burn up things in your trailer.
X2! A good electrician should know this being that it will be on an outside wall but it can't hurt to remind him.
__________________
2018 Ram 1500, 2020 Cougar 22RBS
Two of us, two Jacks and plenty of time to roam!
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. A.E.
QCMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 06:41 AM   #15
LisaKarre
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Colville
Posts: 14
Thank you

Thank you for all the great responses...I knew I could count on you all to know what’s going on☺️ We will be having an electrician come and install a dedicated line for our trailer. As we explore and test out our new trailer we always come here to search for answers and experiences to help us out. This is such an awesome forum...thank you all again...we can’t wait to get out on the road for the first time😁
LisaKarre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 08:25 AM   #16
CedarCreekWoody
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Trinidad,TX
Posts: 206
Lisa, assuming you are installing a 30 amp outlet and not a 50 amp, BE CERTAIN the electrician knows to install a 120 volt RV outlet and not wire it for 240 volts. We can get you a wiring diagram to print and give to the electrican.
__________________
Woody
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2019 Laredo 290 SRL
2019 Ram 2500, 4x4, Cummins diesel
Andersen hitch
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 08:29 AM   #17
CedarCreekWoody
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Trinidad,TX
Posts: 206
See attached wiring diagram:
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 30-amp Service.pdf (64.7 KB, 15 views)
__________________
Woody
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2019 Laredo 290 SRL
2019 Ram 2500, 4x4, Cummins diesel
Andersen hitch
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:42 AM   #18
JSisemoreTX
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Huffman
Posts: 12
need to ensure a properly wired 50 amp hook up, or 30 if that's what your rig is. And need a high quality surge protector plugged in which gives easy visual that it is wired correctly.
JSisemoreTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:49 AM   #19
TSutton
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: La Pine
Posts: 5
I’m surprised that folks didn’t come up with the other answer. If you don’t have anything else on this circuit, then youre probably plugged into a GFI circuit. Regardless, you probably shouldn’t run AC off a 15 or 20 amp circuit and follow the advice of the others above and best of luck.
TSutton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:50 AM   #20
flybouy
Site Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joppa, MD
Posts: 4,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSisemoreTX View Post
need to ensure a properly wired 50 amp hook up, or 30 if that's what your rig is. And need a high quality surge protector plugged in which gives easy visual that it is wired correctly.
A surge protector is a waste of money for an RV. An EMS (Electric Management System) will provide more protection for the issues that are typically encountered. Search the forum for "EMS" and you will see many posts on the subject.
__________________

__________________
Marshall
2012 Laredo 303 TG
2010 F250 LT Super Cab, long bed, 4X4, 6.4 Turbo Diesel
flybouy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×