Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Fifth Wheels
Click Here to Login

Old 07-27-2023, 05:57 AM   #1
John Dennis

Question What are you using your Solarflex 400i for ?

Im a newbie RV owner and have question about Solarflex 400i systems . My question is for those of you that actually have this system . How are you using it ? I live in the Northeast and wonder how to get the most from the Solarflex 400i in this area . How useful has it been for you ?
John Dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2023, 07:50 AM   #2
RollaMo

Our 5th wheel came with this package.
We didn't order the trailer, it was on the lot and the model we wanted.

However, we are not actually using it as intended.

We don't do any "boon docking" or off grid camping, so haven't ever used the inverter.

Trailer has two 12v lead acid batteries, and the solar has kept them charged while parked at our house.
So, haven't needed to ever put a battery tender or remove batteries over winter.
Batteries have remained fully charged. I do check water level every month or so.

I have run the 12 volt refrigerator for approx. 48 hours without the trailer being plugged in though, and no issues with that so far.

But we always have 50 amp power when we are camping.
Old 07-27-2023, 08:43 AM   #3
John Dennis

Thanks for the response RolloMo .

I haven't even gone camping yet , still have stickers on the 5th wheel !
The way Keystone presents their package online makes you think you can do more boon docking with this solar package , but I also notice they say you have to upgrade to get benefits like running the AC etc . Not sure how useful the solar package really is by itself !

I guess getting the fridge cool before you go camping is nice without plugging in and the battery getting charged if you use the lights or bump your slide out's .