Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Keystone Questions
Click Here to Login

Old 12-04-2018, 08:05 PM   #1
Darrell Duncan

Gas and Elect.

Hi Everyone,
I have a 2013 keystone high country cougar.
1. I have an gas instant hot water heater that runs on gas, and it works fine.
2. A refrigerator that runs on gas or elect. Problem is my refrigerator should run on elect. but doesn't it's plugged in and did run on elect. until i ran out of gas and now it doesn't work, so is there a reset switch or something?
3. I have a forced air heater that works great, but does it just run on elect? or gas also? and if it runs on both how do i keep it on elect.?
4. How do you keep hot water in shower at an even temp. it either to hot or to cold how do you keep it even?
I now i'm a newbie and it's all new , any help would be great
Darrell Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2018, 03:12 AM   #2
Lee

Hi,

State which model fridge you have, it will make it easyer for help,.... you are correct the fridge should run on just electricity. You should have buttons to select,.. like "auto" .

Most RV heaters need electricity and gas to operate. the gas provides the heat and the electricity provides the power for the fan and control.

As for te water temp issue in the shower... some owners upgrade the faucet.

Lee

1970 F250 Highboy 4x4
2013 Cougar 21RBSWE
Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2018, 08:09 AM   #3
sourdough
Site Team

You need to determine a couple of things first; 1) do you have it plugged into a proper AC outlet and are you getting power to your trailer and 2) are your propane tanks full or at least not empty (sounds like that part is OK). To check you AC turn on the airconditioner or microwave; do they work? If so, you should have AC to the trailer. If not, you have a loss of power somewhere.