Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 05-17-2012, 07:16 AM   #1
desertjack

2 pt vs 4 pt sway wdh systems

Hi all
Newbie here still trying to decide on best and most economical WDH system to work on a 29 ft Hideout. Looking at Equalizer 4 pt and the Reese Dual cam systems vs the Equalizer E2 and Reese SC systems which I think are 2 way sway units. Trailer is 6200 dry and 7700 gross. Is the 4 pt system worth the 100.00 more vs 2pt ? Can I install the hitch ball with "regular size socket vs the 1 7/8 tapered socket Equalizer seems to need for this aspect of the install ?
Thanks much for any all comments
Desert Jack
desertjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 08:21 AM   #2
fla-gypsy

I use the Reese HP Dual Cam system also referred to as the "Straight Line" I believe if you buy the entire system at once. I did the Dual Cam as an add on to my Reese clone hitch. I believe the integrated (4 pt) systems are superior by far to the standard friction controllers. I am partial to the Reese Dual Cam because it has been so effective for me. My trailer like yours is long (32') and the difference in behavior after installing was just astounding. I tow with a confidence that makes the journey part of the adventure. The entire set up behaves as one unit and the piece of mind is worth every penny.

Old 05-17-2012, 09:16 AM   #3
SLIMSHADIE

x2 on the Reese Dual Cam. Worth every penny. I here the Equalizer is just as good, also. It does pull better, especially during the occasional thunderstorm.
Old 05-17-2012, 11:24 AM   #4
Paddler

Hi Desertjack,
What vehicle will you be towing the trailer with? Make, Model, wheelbase GVW, GCVW? Your hitch requirements are all based on the TV and TT combination. What works great on one rig might be over-kill on another rig.
Old 05-17-2012, 01:07 PM   #5