Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Repairs & Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2020, 06:30 AM   #1
RVclaimed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Sheridan
Posts: 8
Electrical Craziness HELP!

Hey guys! New to forum.

My wife & I just bought a 2015 Bullet Premier 30RIPR. Love it!! We installed a 30 amp outlet at home and plugged in Thursday night. Everything worked as advertised.

Ran AC, checked all outlets, lights, fridge and everything worked great...until last night (Friday night). We went out to check on a few things and NO overhead lights were working (except for couch and dinette) and the AC was not working. ALL OUTLETS STILL WORK, including microwave.

I checked shore power, no issues. Checked breakers and fuses at interior panel, no apparent issues. I measured power on Main line to Main breaker.

I AM EXASPERATED. I donít know what else to check. HELP! Lol. Seriously, I am praying someone in this forum has some idea what could be wrong. Thanks in advance for your help. Blessings.
__________________

RVclaimed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 06:49 AM   #2
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 11,099
If you have nothing 12V working then I would be looking at the converter and battery. Use a Volt/Ohm meter at the battery and make sure you have at least 13+ VDC. If not then its time to find the converter and check it.
__________________

__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 07:16 AM   #3
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 18,165
I'm guessing this might have happened:

You just installed the 30 amp outlet, so the trailer has been in storage without power (probably with the battery disconnected to prevent discharge) ???

So, when you had the outlet installed, you reconnected the battery and plugged the trailer into the outlet ????

A couple days later, no 12 volt power ????

My guess: When you reconnected the battery, you touched the + cable to the - terminal on the battery "accidentally"... That "instantly blew the reverse polarity fuses that protect the converter". Once the battery was connected and everything working properly, you walked away, satisfied that it was "all good"...

Now for my guess: The converter, with blown reverse polarity fuses, is disconnected from the 12 volt electrical system, and as soon as the battery discharged, everything on the 12 volt side of your trailer electrical system stopped working....

Look on the power center panel, just to the left of your "vertical row of DC fuses" you'll find two red 40 amp fuses. Check them, they may be the reason "nothing battery powered is operating"....
__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 01:06 PM   #4
RVclaimed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Sheridan
Posts: 8
Mystery solved!

Thank you guys for your quick response!

It was indeed a bad converter box. My fault as I wired 30 amp receptacle wrong. Realized it, wired it correctly and a friend had a new converter box. It was about a 25 minute fix and we are now good to go.

Thank you again and Happy Camping!
RVclaimed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 01:15 PM   #5
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 11,099
Good deal!! Glad your up and running, get out and use it as soon as you can. Since you realized your mistake, now is a good time to think about buying an EMS (energy management system) often times called a surge protector. They are not the same thing. An EMS will tell you if the receptacle your about to plug your trailer into is proper. It also protects against under and over voltage spikes.

Portable or ďhard wiredĒ but I suggest you donít leave home without it. I have a hard wired with remote display by Progressive Industries.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 01:19 PM   #6
sourdough
Site Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: W. Texas
Posts: 8,859
^^^^x2 on what Chuckster said. What happened to you would not have happened with an EMS and it would have told you what was wrong. Don't leave home without it.
__________________
Danny & Susan wife of 52 years
2019 Ram 3500 Laramie CC SB 6.4 4x4 4.10
2020 Montana High Country 331RL
sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 01:28 PM   #7
notanlines
Senior Member
 
notanlines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 3,914
Yep, what ^^^^they said! And if it is any consolation, many people with much experience have wired both 30 amp and 50 amp outlets incorrectly.
Back when I was 30 or so and certainly knew all there was to know about residential electricity I learned right quick what a 200 watt globe bulb sounds like when 240 volts is sent to it.
__________________
Jim in Memphis
Wife of 48 years is Brenda
2019 F450 6.7 Powerstroke
2017 Mobile Suites
21K Demco auto-slider
2001 Road king w/matching Harley sidecar
notanlines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 02:39 PM   #8
LHaven
Senior Member
 
LHaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Wickenburg
Posts: 1,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckster57 View Post
Portable or ďhard wiredĒ but I suggest you donít leave home without it. I have a hard wired with remote display by Progressive Industries.
I highly recommend the same thing.

One tip: put the display somewhere where it won't be in your field of vision during daily life in the rig, especially not when you're facing the TV. It's really bright, blinks nonstop, and is really distracting!
__________________
2019 Cougar 26RBSWE
2019 Ford F-250
LHaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 04:35 PM   #9
xrated
Senior Member
 
xrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: "Murvil, TN
Posts: 1,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by notanlines View Post
Yep, what ^^^^they said! And if it is any consolation, many people with much experience have wired both 30 amp and 50 amp outlets incorrectly.
Back when I was 30 or so and certainly knew all there was to know about residential electricity I learned right quick what a 200 watt globe bulb sounds like when 240 volts is sent to it.
Ooh, Ooh, Mista Kotter....I know the ansa to that one....."Go ahead Horshack!"
The light got really, really bright.....but it didn't last very long!

Hopefully there are at least a few of us old enough to remember "Welcome back Kotter"!
__________________
2016 F350 King Ranch Crew Cab Dually Diesel 4x4
2018 Grand Design Momentum 394M
2019 Can Am Spyder RT Limited (Phoenix Orange)
Excessive payload capacity is a wonderful thing

"If it ain't Fast....It ain't Fun"
xrated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 05:04 PM   #10
Logan X
Senior Member
 
Logan X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by LHaven View Post
I highly recommend the same thing.

One tip: put the display somewhere where it won't be in your field of vision during daily life in the rig, especially not when you're facing the TV. It's really bright, blinks nonstop, and is really distracting!
Agreed. You can get a hardwired unit by progressive industries without a remote display. This is what I have. I donít need to see the display unless there is a problem. If there is a problem, itís easy to get to where I mounted the unit and see what is happening. Itís also cheaper without the remote display.

Iím happy to hear you got it sorted out.
__________________
Mike
2017 F250 6.7 Powerstroke FX4 crew cab
2016 Hideout 24BHSWE (27 foot TT)

Check me out on YouTube if you love America:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmF...gJpypWJz5Lgl3w
Logan X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 03:52 AM   #11
WNY Bullet
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 447
Welcome to the forum RVclaimed!

I'm glad you got it worked out and I also highly recommend a EMS system. I started out with a portable unit I would install at the post, but soon ungraded to a hardwired system.
__________________
Mike & Barb
2015 Keystone Bullet Premier 26RBPR
2017 Chevy Silverado LT Z71

WNY Bullet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 04:53 AM   #12
notanlines
Senior Member
 
notanlines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 3,914
Vernon, let 'em laugh if they want to. Principal Woodman will be lording over Kotter and his would be hoodlums at 9:00 this morning on Laff TV. Yep, we'll be there.
I know my dad is looking down right now, shaking his head and asking "Where did I go wrong?"
Back to your regularly scheduled programing...
__________________
Jim in Memphis
Wife of 48 years is Brenda
2019 F450 6.7 Powerstroke
2017 Mobile Suites
21K Demco auto-slider
2001 Road king w/matching Harley sidecar
notanlines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 07:27 AM   #13
RVclaimed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Sheridan
Posts: 8
Re: EMS System

You guys are awesome. How can I not get a hardwired EMS system now. I will invest in one quickly as we plan to hit the road at least 100 days per year. Thank you!!!
__________________

RVclaimed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RVģ is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×