Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Repairs & Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2020, 08:41 AM   #1
Gwennypenny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 6
Thermostat 2009

Update

Coleman Mac thermostat



Hi everyone ,

We turned the heat on last week while at trailer , it came on for a moment and shut off . Didn’t turn back on, no click, no noice, nothing .
Fuses are good , we have hot water , propane tanks full.

Thermostat seems dead, used a wire checker and no power from any wires on the thermostat. RV place will not accept returns due to COVID and we don’t know if this is the issue or what else can we check?
__________________

Gwennypenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 08:46 AM   #2
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 11,099
Welcome to the forum

which thermostat do you have? There are a few tings to check but first we need to know what we are working with.
__________________

__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 08:48 AM   #3
Gwennypenny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 6
Coleman mac

2009
Coleman mac
We have hot water , stove turns on .
Gwennypenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 08:53 AM   #4
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 11,099
If its an analog thermostat with a "Slider" for the temp, take the cover off and look in the lower right corner for a fuse. make sure its good.
Here is a wiring diagram

https://www.bing.com/images/search?v...x=0&ajaxhist=0

You might have to trace where the 12V line is coming from. One place is the control panel in the A/C unit. inside the return duct. I have seen White as ground and blue as heat.
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 08:56 AM   #5
Gwennypenny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 6
Fuse looks good
We will try what you have suggested now
He is looking for the ac unit
Gwennypenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 08:59 AM   #6
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 11,099
Use an OHM meter, fuses can LOOK good and be broken at the edge of the wire
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 09:00 AM   #7
Gwennypenny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 6
He sees 2 little white ones
2 thicker white one with a blue wire going into
and yellow, green, brown
No power coming from any of them
Gwennypenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 04:48 PM   #8
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 11,099
Any progress?
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 05:00 PM   #9
Gwennypenny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 6
Hi
Well
Not good news
Itís the red power wire under the fridge . Itís broken likely from mice. The issue now is ... we canít see where the red wire is under the brown casing ( so we could re attach it ) the wire is completely encased in the brown covering and we canít get our finger or hand in there well
Enough . So the power wire is disconnected and no way to
Reconnect that we can see . Iíve been trying to maneuver my body like a pretzel.
Gwennypenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 05:03 PM   #10
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 11,099
If there is another 12V source anywhere close, just run a new wire.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 05:07 PM   #11
Gwennypenny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: St. Catharines
Posts: 6
We have a light switch near by that operates the bathroom light . Could we spice into that one ? That’s the closet we could on
Gwennypenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 05:39 PM   #12
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 11,099
Yes. Just make sure you tap into the upstream side of the switch so you donít have to turn on the light to operate the thermostat.
__________________

chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RVģ is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×