Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Technical Corner
Click Here to Login

Old 07-21-2019, 04:58 PM   #1
dsttexas

TPMS on rubber or metal valve stems?

I bought a set of 4 TireMinder Smart tire pressure monitors and before I mount them I'm curious if other owners have installed them on standard rubber valve stems without issues or needed metal ones. I also believe rubber stems are only rated up to 60lbs psi but I've been running 80 for 4 years without problems. The rims should be good up to 100 I believe. I need 80 for my tires.

Each valve unit only weighs 0.5oz including battery so doubt any issue with centrifugal force causing problems. I looked into steel valve stems but local tire dealer can't find any outer mount ones that fit the hole in my rims because rim hole is somewhat buried within shoulders and can't get tool around it. So far I have found one set of Inner Mount solid brass valve stems that only come in 0.453" stem hole size and not the larger 0.625". I'm not sure what my rims have for hole size yet.

TireMinder Owners manual only states possible issues with rubber valves if using valve extenders and suggests steel ones in that case.
Old 07-21-2019, 05:09 PM   #2
Canonman

I had metal valve stems installed when I upgraded the Cougar to Carlisle LR-E tires and installed our TPMS. As for psi rating for rubber valve stems the LR-E tires on the Ram are rubber and have 40k miles al at 80 psi. New tires for the Ram planned soon and these will have metal valve stems. I did have a valve stem break on our Chrysler and do not want to deal with that while traveling with the RV.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	_MGL3665.jpg
Views:	156
Size:	293.1 KB
ID:	22923  
I think the little voices in my head have started a chat group.
Canonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 05:10 PM   #3