Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 07-03-2013, 04:53 PM   #1
lightning79

Thoughts on tow/haul mode

Hello friends,

I hope everyone is enjoying their camping season! I'm a teacher, and so I live in my trailer for the summer months, so far, it's been great!

So last year I didn't really try out the tow/haul mode on my 2008 Dodge Ram 2500 diesel, but today, I did. I also used it in the Rocky Mountains last week. I'd like some opinions!

I found that using the mode allows the engine to stay in its good RPMs much better, as without it, on hilly roads with a low speed limit, the RPMs would drop lower and seem to lug the engine. Tow/haul didn't do this at all.

I also found that it's much more effective with the exhaust brake on, as coming to stops meant much more aggressive exhaust braking. As I took my foot off the accelerator pedal, the transmission would shift, the RPMs would go up, and the exhaust brake would really slow down my combination. Was very helpful coming down the hill to the campground here just below Edmonton when someone decided to stop at the bottom of the hill.

I did, at first, find it a little unnerving when the RPMs would go way up and a rough shift would happen, but that seems to be the way it's supposed to be.

I also think I may have used a little more fuel with this mode engaged.

Overall, I think I like the mode. I"m not towing a big trailer, so it's probably not totally necessary, but still is a good idea.

I'd be interested in some opinions!

Kevin
Old 07-03-2013, 05:12 PM   #2
mhs4771