Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Fifth Wheels
Click Here to Login

Old 07-25-2012, 01:11 PM   #1
Flattrack

Fiberglass front cap weakness

I was just waxing my 2009 Laredo 265RL with about 2400 miles on it and found spider cracks along both upper seams where the rubber top meets the fiberglass cap and at the bottom where it meets the sideing. I also leaned into the front cap with my hand and had it give way too much for comfort. What's up with this? Two years ago the counter top around the kitchen sink, and stove shattered, and of course "Keystone" would not cover there sub-supplier's screw-up! I had to put an extra power switch for the intertainment system because you could not shut the light off on the front of the unit. I have been a professional commercial driver for over 45 years so rough handling can be ruled out. When are these manufacturers going to wise up to the fact they cannot continue to push this garbage out onto the road and expect us to continue buying it!!
Flattrack
Flattrack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 07:23 PM   #2
JRTJH
Site Team

Welcome to the forum, now to respond to your complaint:

METHINKS that as long as people buy the current quality of product, the manufacturers make a profit and they are happy. But, when the manufacturers quit making a profit, they will reorganize and try to figure out why. That's what happened with the "big 3" in the 70's. Japan was outproducing American vehicles in quality and people stopped buying a new car every year (because they looked different) and started realizing that "somebody" could build a car that didn't have to spend the majority of it's first year in the service department. After suffering significant profit losses in those years, the "big 3" got the message. Now their products rival any built anywhere in the world.