Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Repairs & Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Old 07-22-2021, 05:28 AM   #1
Pete76

AC motor or capacitors?

Hope everyone is staying cool, I have a keystone Laredo and our AC came to a halt, literally. It quit while running. I am very familiar with most thing,being a auto tech my whole life so I have a strong a
Mechanical aptitude. That being said this is a bit different. I took the motor out, looked at the capacitors, they are very d, mud dobbed nest,etc.....I get a hum when I turn it on, I got Upton and spun it, it started, ran, then stopped. I broke some blower fan blades trying to do it from inside like a dummy, very brittle. I called it over for the motor. Then I learned by reading the service manual for Fasco all about this motor, kinda....I know about the thermal protection etc,....after it cooled off I took the motor out, but it spins freely,when it is connectedi t is almost hard to spin, spins fee when off, easy. I have never oiled the motor, but spins freely when Applied EMF....any ideas of anything else it could be? I'm saying if not 1 but all 3 capacitors are bad, start and run? Thank in advance.
Pete76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2021, 06:17 AM   #2
xrated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete76 View Post
Hope everyone is staying cool, I have a keystone Laredo and our AC came to a halt, literally. It quit while running. I am very familiar with most thing,being a auto tech my whole life so I have a strong a