Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 01-26-2015, 04:00 PM   #1
archer75

forward and backwards movement while towing

This is my first time towing anything. Picked up a Hideout 26.5' and tow it with my Nissan Titan.

I'm getting this weird feeling when towing like a water tank is half full and water is sloshing forward and backwards. I do have a Equal-i-zer hitch installed and I got it setup so that the height of the front and rear of my truck hasn't changed all that much when coupled. Just a touch lower.
I'm not getting any side to side sway at all. Just the sensation of moving forwards and backwards.

Any idea what that is? I talked to several people about this and all buy one said they don't know and the one who did experience said it was normal and he drives a Ram 2500.
archer75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 04:24 PM   #2
BirchyBoy

Does it happen all the time or when stopping? Maybe check to make sure your ball is the proper size and is tightened to the proper torque. Also check the two bolts large bolts that go through the ball carrier into the hitch.
'15 Open Range 256BHS / '05 F350 CCLB RWD V10
'14 Keystone Passport 238ML / '13 GC Trailhawk Hemi
RIP Birch (pitbull)
BirchyBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 04:41 PM   #3
archer75

It's all the time. The hitch ball is the correct size. All bolts are as tight as I could get them. I had to borrow some pretty big wrenches to get it done.
Old 01-26-2015, 05:04 PM   #4
NotyetMHCowner

Is it sort of "bucking" when going over imperfections in the road? Or constantly back and forth movement ALL the time?
1998 Coleman Grandview pop-up with slide

Trucks:
2006 Ford F350 CC, SB, DRW, 4x4
1992 Ford F150 SC, SB, 4x4
NotyetMHCowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 05:09 PM   #5
archer75