Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Modifications and Upgrades
Click Here to Login

Old 10-03-2022, 02:35 AM   #1
Andrew262BH

newbie here on the idea of rock guards

hello all- even a year in and I feel that I know less than when I started

- due to DOT rules in states that we may want to travel in (new England)
we are wanting to put mudflaps on the 2021 262 bh

do I get ones that are traditional mudflap (attached to the wheel wells)
or do I get a rock guard that goes across the entire back of the trailer mounted on the bumper (?) where i hae my spare tire?

thanks
Andrew262BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2022, 04:30 AM   #2
jasin1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew262BH View Post
hello all- even a year in and I feel that I know less than when I started

- due to DOT rules in states that we may want to travel in (new England)
we are wanting to put mudflaps on the 2021 262 bh

do I get ones that are traditional mudflap (attached to the wheel wells)
or do I get a rock guard that goes across the entire back of the trailer mounted on the bumper (?) where i hae my spare tire?

thanks

i believe the DOT rules are for motorized vehicles…mud flaps for dually trucks both private and commercial in some states but not for private trailers
also maybe mudflaps for class A,B and C rvs
mud flaps are probably required for commercial trailers,semi trailers or equipment trailers

if fifth wheels and travel trailers were required to have them i would think the dealers would have to install them on new units to pass inspection those states.

i’m sure some people have installed them to keep there trailer clean but i don’t believe it’s required anywhere
Old 10-03-2022, 06:00 AM   #3
sourdough
Site Team