Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 05-10-2011, 10:03 AM   #1
glide driver

Looking for Advice/Help

Here we go!

I am new to the camping experiance. We purchased a 2011 Keystone Bullet 230BHS. Shipping weight of 4473 lbs. ( I now know that info is useless!) with a Cargo capacity of 2002 lbs.
My tow vehicle is a 2006 Jeep Commander with a 4.7L, 3.73 gears and a factory tow package. (dealer said it would tow fine) After doing some more research, my GCWR is 11665 lbs.
I now know I can't carry mych cargo or I will be up against the limits of my tow vehicle. What are my options at this point? I have a WD hitch and sway control from eaz-lift. I am thinking of upgrading that to an equalizer or Reese.
Any other advice or options would be GREATLY appreciated!

Thanks!
glide driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 11:14 AM   #2
jq1031

Towing with your three holding tanks empty should help some. Carry a couple gallons of bottle water while on the road to flush toilet & wash hands. Also, you may want to look into the Hensley Arrow Hitch. They are expensive but if you plan on any long distance trips, that hitch may be the answer to your needs. Good Luck..Joe
jq1031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 11:29 AM   #3
Festus2
Site Team

As a rule of thumb, you should not exceed 80% of your capacity. After you look at all the ratings, weights, capacities, etc., and do all the math, anything beyond that 80% "safe" level, you are pushing the limits. It seems that adding various air bags, equalizers, and other devices that might soften your ride, may not do much, if anything, to take away from the fact that you still might be overloaded.