Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Keystone Questions
Click Here to Login

Old 05-13-2022, 05:47 PM   #1
Maximilian

Black tank sensor

We bought a used 2018 springdale 311re
The dealer says the black tank is empty but may have a build up on the sensors. When we check with the push button read out it says 2/3 full. Ive used stuff to brake down any "media" inside but it's still saying g 2/3 full. Any way to physically spray these tanks out?

I'm new to this.
Maximilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 05:56 PM   #2
1tenor

I have a "wand" with a rotating spray nozzle on the end. I got it at WalMart I think. You connect it to a water hose and hold the flush valve open on the toilet. Stick the wand in and turn it on (it has a little valve on the wand). Move it all around and see if you can clean some of the goop off. However, in most cases, you can pretty much bet the gauges will never be very accurate. Some people put a bag of ice down the toilet and drive around a bit to try and let the ice dislodge the poo.

Good luck and welcome.
1tenor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 04:04 AM   #3
German Shepherd Guy

Those gauges are notoriously bad. Most likely you will need just develop a "feel" for when it needs emptying. Remember to only empty when it is near full, even if you are in a campground with full hook-ups. That is so you do not develop "build up" inside the tank. You might try filling the tank about 2/3 full with water and a little dish soap and driving around so that the motion acts as an agitator to clean it.
Welcome to the forum.

German Shepherd Guy

2018 Keystone 26RBPR
2014 Suburban 2500, 6L with 3.73 rear

German Shepherd Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 04:56 AM   #4
NH_Bulldog