Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login

Old 04-24-2017, 11:07 AM   #1
linux3

Engine Braking

Maybe this isn't the place for this question but...
As you can see I have a 2017 Silverado 1500m Z71. Factory tow package.
I have read the manual about using engine braking when towing. I've read it 4 times and am still scratching my head. I'm a retired engineer and maybe I've been away too long but I just don't understand.

Someone who uses this feature, could you explain?
2020 Chevy Silverado 1500 LTZ Z71 6.2L
linux3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2017, 11:37 AM   #2
sourdough
Site Team

Is the manual referencing the gas or diesel engine??
sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2017, 12:09 PM   #3
rhagfo

Quote:
Originally Posted by sourdough View Post
Is the manual referencing the gas or diesel engine??
OP stated 1500 must be Gas
Visit and enjoy Oregon State Parks
rhagfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2017, 12:21 PM   #4
sourdough
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhagfo View Post
OP stated 1500 must be Gas

Yes, it would be gas and that's why I asked the question. He said he was reading he manual about engine braking but nothing about engine braking with a gas engine. Didn't know if his manual contained gas only info or for gas and diesel.
sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2017, 01:15 PM   #5
hankpage
Site Team

I would imagine the difference is engine braking with a gas engine (down shifting) and exhaust braking with a diesel engine equipped with an exhaust brake. JM2˘, Hank
hankpage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2017, 01:27 PM   #6
Pull Toy

These days it seems that "One size fits all" manuals are common. They're cheaper to produce, but can be confusing, and sometimes have conflicting info.