Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Community Forums > Full-timers & Snowbirds
Click Here to Login

Old 07-13-2014, 02:11 PM   #1
kasualkat

Travel RN thinking of living full time in a TT...advice appreciated

Hello All-

First, thank you for taking the time to read this and for posting any advice that you have!! OK, I am a single 37 year old male and I am currently a travel nurse. I have been doing this for 9 months and plan on doing this for probably two more years. Instead of paying all these outrageous short term rental rates, I am thinking about buying a TT....but, I know almost nothing about them. Here is what I do know. I have a 2013 Toyota Tundra, 4wd, 5.7 liter V8....I do not know the transmission off the top of my head, but I can easily find that info for ya. I travel fairly light, just me, my dog and the basic necessities to live. My assignments are usually 13 weeks long and I can end up anywhere in the US. So far I have worked in Alaska and now I am in Colorado (I live in and am from SC)...Questions......

1) How durable are TT's? what kind of regular maintenance should I expect?
2) What can I safely pull with my truck....I don't want to spend 1000's modifying my truck
3) As a general rule, how safe are campgrounds? Also, how common are they? Do I have to worry about people breaking into my "home" while I am at work for 12 hours?
4) Do campgrounds usually allow people to stay for up to 13 weeks? Whats a price range for staying at a campground? Do most have water and power hookups....offer cable tv and internet?
5) What price range should I expect to spend on a TT? What make and model would you recommend?
6) I know this is short, and I just started today thinking about this option, but what other questions should I be asking?

Thank you to anyone who replies!!

Be good,
Kevin
kasualkat is offline   Reply With Quote