PDA

View Full Version : 2006 ram2500

rhminva
03-01-2013, 06:09 AM
I'm looking at purchasing a 2006 RAM 2500 Quad cab/long bed. The current owner is a friend and has added the leveling kit (raise the front end level with the back) and some extra leaf springs on the rear end. The result is a small lift for the entire truck.

I'm hoping someone might have some experience with this truck and could provide some feedback. It has the Cummins diesel and only 57k miles. Appears to be well mainained. I have heard the transmissions can be problematic, but that may be with earlier years. I believe it has the 4 speed Auto. (5 speed Auto's were introduced with a next gen cummins)

Thanks in advance for the feedback.

davidjsimons
03-01-2013, 06:23 AM
I have had a lot of experience with these trucks. Have owned over twenty of them. The biggest issue in regard to the automatic transmission is to do a complete system flush around every 25,000 miles using ONLY MOPAR FLUID. Many people will tell you that their fluid is just as good. Perhaps it is, but I've never had a premature transmission failure using my method. By premature, I mean anything under 200,000 working miles, not hauling dog food and groceries. The 2006 has the tried and true 5.9, it's all but bullet proof. It sounds like a great truck given the mileage. I would have no hesitations buying it.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Jables
03-01-2013, 06:35 AM
Make sure the bands stay in adjustment. I work on these all the time. 48re is a great mortgage helper for me. With maintanence they will hold up much better. Just because that engine and truck feel like they never struggle doesn't mean the trans is happy at all times. Decent trucks over all. Just a bit maintenance heavy.

davidjsimons
03-01-2013, 06:43 AM