PDA

View Full Version : Setup opinion

NWTTrailer
05-23-2012, 11:13 AM
Howdy Folks,
When we purchased our trailer the dealer setup the WDH with my 04 Tundra that we towed with at the time. Shortly after that We moved to a 2010 Tundra for a TV. I never changed the WHD setup due to the fact that the ball height was about a 1/4" higher than the 04. When hooked up to the trailer and bars installed the front drops about a 1/2" and the rear almost a 1". No problems with sway and the steering never feels "light" and responds fine. I attached a picture of TV and Trailer. Should I redo the setup up or just let it be if everything feels fine

2011 keystone
05-23-2012, 11:22 AM
I'm no pro when it comes to setting up a hitch but it looks good to me in the pic.
BTW that combo looks great together.

SteveC7010
05-23-2012, 12:03 PM
I like my rigs dead level if possible. There are two things you could try.

First, try taking up another link and see if the difference between the front and back of the TV decreases.

Or, if you have a tilt ball platform, tilt it down one notch so that the tips of the weight bars are just a bit closer to the ground. Then take it up the same number of links that you do now.

Either should level up things just about dead on. I prefer the tilt adjustment, but then not everyone has the 1 1/8" box end wrench needed for that.

NWTTrailer
05-23-2012, 12:30 PM
I should of included the Hitch type. It's a Fastway E2 pretty much the same as the Equalizer. I might move the brackets up one hole on the frame

f6bits
05-23-2012, 12:44 PM
The OP stated that the front *drops* ½”. All the installation tips I’ve seen recommend that you try to get the front close to the way it was, but not lower.