PDA

View Full Version : newbie needs wdh recommends

desertjack
05-11-2012, 06:34 AM
Hi all
Newbie here. Just bought a new 26rls Hideout so I probably need to upgrade my wdh system from the one I had with the lighter TT I traded in. I 've read good things about the Reese dual cams and Equalizer 4 pt systems. They're kind of hi cost so are they worth the price for my TT at 6200 dry and 7700 gross. My TV is about 4800 dry andn can tow up to 9500 lbs. I've had good results in towing the lighter TT with a Draw Tight wdh with friction bar. The new TT lacks a ball for the friction bar on the A frame so I need to add that IF I stay with a friction bar system. So I would appreciate any / all comments on the Equalizer / Reese systems vs the chain / friction bar type systems as they cost quite a bit less. Thanks again for comments / suggestions.
Desert Jack

Jorme
05-11-2012, 08:33 AM
I have always been a fan of Eaz-lift. Between my grandfather, father, and myself have been using that system for 40 years....My hitch, sway control, and bars in still in excellent condition and work flawlessly.

dave-g
05-12-2012, 02:37 AM
to bad your on the other side of the country- I have a reese dual cam that I used for 2 years towing a 21' hybrid with a min van.

The dual cam set up worked great. Would hold the trailer very straight. Never a wiggle.

It also make the van ride much nicer. It would loose the tail heavy feeling.

I like the cam over friction, it will not wear out, always feels the same.

SteveC7010
05-12-2012, 02:49 AM
I am not a fan of friction sway control for trailers over 5,500# GVWR. They are too dependent on the user setting them properly. Most of the time they are either too tight or too loose.