PDA

View Full Version : Question about heating

Insertfubnyforumname
09-16-2020, 11:06 AM
Hey guys, I’m currently living in my 24’ Bullet full time. This is a new development for me and I’m new to campers in general. I had a question about heating with a space heater, it’s going to get expensive for me to heat with gas through the winter. My unit is a 30 amp hook up but I’m a little concerned with running a space heater because of the pull and strain on the electrical. How dangerous is this? Is there anything I can do to minimize the danger? And would it be better to find a way to run a heavy duty drop cord through the wall(I have an easy access spot) and run it off that? Or is that more dangerous? Thanks in advance guys

SummitPond
09-16-2020, 01:28 PM
Hey guys, I’m currently living in my 24’ Bullet full time. <snip> I had a question about heating with a space heater, it’s going to get expensive for me to heat with gas through the winter. My unit is a 30 amp hook up but I’m a little concerned with running a space heater because of the pull and strain on the electrical. How dangerous is this? Is there anything I can do to minimize the danger? <snip>

Welcome to the forum.

I can't address the question regarding electrical strain, although we do use a portable space heater when the need arises in conjunction with the LP furnace (the furnace does a much better job of taking the chill off quickly throughout the trailer, whereas the space heater keeps our bedroom comfortable).

Have you looked into one of the large external LP tanks that the LP company often provides for a small rental fee and holds lots of fuel?

travelin texans
09-16-2020, 01:48 PM
Welcome to the forum.