PDA

View Full Version : Battery Exploded

HppyCmpr
07-20-2020, 08:18 AM
What would cause a new battery to explode while stored? Can it explode because of heat?:ermm:

sourdough
07-20-2020, 08:25 AM
New as in you just bought it brand new? Supposed to be new in a new camper? New to you?

With a proper charger or tender and proper mtce. (filled with water, clean posts etc.) more info is needed. As indicated above overcharging, lack of mtce. or water could lead to a problem.

HppyCmpr
07-20-2020, 08:55 AM
The TT is plugged in 365 days a year.. Is it possible it was overcharged? The TT is only a year old. What maintenance is there for the battery? Sorry, these are probably dumb questions, but I am still new at this.

notanlines
07-20-2020, 11:48 AM
Here is a little info for you: https://www.centurybatteries.co.nz/content/documents/battery-talk/issue-3-battery-talk-exploding-batteries.pdf

flybouy
07-20-2020, 01:57 PM
The TT is plugged in 365 days a year.. Is it possible it was overcharged? The TT is only a year old. What maintenance is there for the battery? Sorry, these are probably dumb questions, but I am still new at this.

Check water level in the battery monthly ar a min if constant'y charging. Water evaporates, plates get exposed, water boils, boiling battery acid creates hydrogen gas, plates warp and touch, then spark equals boom.

Customer1
07-20-2020, 05:47 PM
Got a picture? I've never seen an exploded battery.

If a battery isn't maintained it will eventually go dry.

JRTJH
07-20-2020, 07:36 PM
here ya go. It might be a "unicorn" but if so, then "unicorns are real"...

sourdough
07-20-2020, 08:22 PM
Got a picture? I've never seen an exploded battery.

If a battery isn't maintained it will eventually go dry.