PDA

View Full Version : Dometic refrigerator

khosier
05-17-2020, 09:59 AM
I am new to full time. Went out and bought a 2019 Cougar 362RKS and 2019 F350 6.2 4x4 to tow with. My question is has anyone had trouble with 13.5 cu ft 4 door refer? Ours runs between 34 and 44 and it isn't even hot yet. Hate to through a new unit out but thinking of changing to a unit with a compressor not absorbtion. We are afraid when temps get over a 100 the absorbtion unit will not keep up.

Gary R.
05-17-2020, 10:18 AM
Greetings and welcome to the forum.

We have a double door Dometic in our Alpine. I, too, was initially concerned about the cooling ability of the fridge on hot days, but I soon learned there is a fan in the rear of the fridge that activates around 80 degrees. It seems to move enough air to keep the innards between 35 an 40 on those hot days.

Hope this helps, and enjoy your new Cougar!

chuckster57
05-17-2020, 10:25 AM
If my mind is in gear, I believe there are 4 fans on that refer. Your biggest loss of cooling will be when you open the door and “graze”. It has been said that for every minute you have the doors open it will take like 2 hours to recover.

If your going to switch to a “residential” unit, you will need an inverter any time your not plugged into shore power. That means running wiring and probably changing your battery set up.

khosier
05-17-2020, 10:36 AM
Thanks Gary and Chuckster. You are right there are four fans in this model. I have also added a muffin fan in the back and an interior fan inside. As you well know in another month 100's are the norms. I think I can go with a frigidaire 13.9 with very little mods. This one is driving the better half crazy.

chuckster57
05-17-2020, 10:51 AM
Muffin pan?

khosier
05-17-2020, 10:55 AM
Muffin fan very similar to one that is in a computer. 120 volt.

chuckster57
05-17-2020, 01:45 PM
What is it for?

gearhead
05-17-2020, 04:58 PM