PDA

View Full Version : Old bulbs seals on slide-outs a gooey mess

daveinaz
02-11-2019, 08:28 AM
So I finally got my slide-outs working properly (thanks everyone), so now it's time to replace the bulb and wiper seals. It's strange, the old wiper seals have turned into a tar-like mush. I was working on removing some of them out at the storage yard and didn't have all of my stuff with me. Anyway, all I had out there was some spray silicon. As it turns out, the stuff works pretty good at removing the tar-e goop from the walls and slideout. I'm thinking that WD-40 might be good too.

travelin texans
02-11-2019, 08:41 AM
Just be sure not to get the WD40 on the good seals or they'll be mush as well. You can use the silicone WD 40, not the regular.

JRTJH
02-11-2019, 09:07 AM
^^^ What he said. I'm no chemical engineer, so I can't describe the process of "seal breakdown" that occurs from "good seals to goo on the wall" but, I can say that if a spray on product dissolves the goo, chances are good that it would also dissolve the replacement seal "rubber compound".

So, if you're using silicone spray or WD40 to clean the goo (which is the old seals) off the sidewall, be sure to clean the "spray stuff" off the sidewall before it gets on the new seals or you may be "headed down the road to new seals when they turn to goo before their time".....

daveinaz
02-11-2019, 09:13 AM
Good points. I got some of that 303 spray protectant for the new seals.

sourdough
02-11-2019, 09:26 AM