PDA

View Full Version : I'm over my GAWR, what to do?

AlpineKeith
02-09-2019, 07:56 AM
I took my rig to a Cat scale and found out I am over my GAWR by 80lbs with my trailer being EMPTY! Being a newbie, I am at a loss as to what to do about this situation. Here are my stats:

2016 F250 6.7 diesel 2019 Alpine 3400RS
3.55 axle ratio GVWR 15,0000
GVWR 10,000 GAWR (each axle) 7000
GCWR 23,500

scale info: Truck Only: Steer axle 4860
Drive axle 3540
Gross Wt 8400
Truck and Trailer: Steer Axle 4840
Drive axle 6180
Trailer Axle 9960
Gross Wt 20980

I presume by loading the trailer, more weight will be put on the rear axle. I do not want to tow unsafe. Is there anything I can do to rectify this?

Tbos
02-09-2019, 08:06 AM
2 trailer axles at 7000lbs each means you can have 14000lbs on those axles. 20237 Here is the scale ticket for my Alpine 3651RL and my F350. All within vehicle limits.

Ken / Claudia
02-09-2019, 08:14 AM
The short answer, buy a bigger truck or a smaller trailer.

Wxman
02-09-2019, 08:21 AM
OP, am I right that you are concerned about GAWR of the rear axle on your truck? You show a weight of 6180 loaded for the rear (drive axle). I am thinking your rear (drive axle) GAWR is 6100 and thus the 80lb difference.

The rear GAWR for your truck doesn't appear in your original post and if I am correct above, may be confusing some who could give some advice. No 5er here so I am hesitant to say anything.

Good luck

66joej
02-09-2019, 08:24 AM
If you are not fulltiming punt the washer/dryer. If you have them.

busterbrown
02-09-2019, 08:24 AM
Your pin weight loaded on that trailer will be well north of 3,000 lbs. You have more capacity violations than just GAWR. What's the listed truck's payload on the placard? Those F250 diesels will be very limited, especially when they are optioned out.

Ken is spot on. Bigger truck or smaller trailer are your only safe bets.

Tbos
02-09-2019, 08:26 AM